The Great Gatsby Review

Image

I understand completely that this book is a classic and a great insight to 1920’s America and the American culture in general, but I just couldn’t see what the big fuss over this book is all about.
It is definitely a wonderful book. Beautifully written and executed, but it was just confusing most of the time.
Perhaps, I’m just too young to fully understand and appreciate the words of F. Scott Fitzgerald or possibly, because of my “little” knowledge about 1920’s America, I just can’t relate to the context.

The perks of the book was the twisting love story between Gatsby and Daisy. They are one of the many perfect example of undying love. To be away from someone so long and still have intense feelings for them is truly remarkable. It really puts the saying “Distance makes the heart grow fonder” in to perfect use. Their love is what many of use today search for.

I honestly found this book a complete bore. After reading many other classics such as “The Catcher In The Rye-J.D. Saliinger” and “Life of Pi-Yann Martel”, your left bored and disappointed.
Nick’s narration was very tedious. He either over explained the situation, to the point where we knew every little detail of his surrounding, or he didn’t explain it at all, leaving us without the satisfaction.
On the upside, he wasn’t as predictable as Holden Caulfield, but I certainly would have liked it better if he was.

Then, there’s Jay Gatsby himself. To me, he resembles a typical modern teenager. He throws spectacular parties, with open invitations, just so he doesn’t have to be alone. But, when you don’t know anyone at your party, doesn’t that just make you feel more lonely.
And on top of that, he’s only having the party because he’s hoping that Daisy will turn up.
Perhaps it was normal to do that back in the day, but to me, it’s just a little bit weird. He goes through all this trouble, throwing party after party, all for a girl. Even then, he only finds her because of his neighbour.

I will certainly try again with this book. I’ll brush up on my American history and it’s decline in the 1920’s.

I never judge a book by it’s movie or vise-versa, but in this case, I am. Fingers crossed Leonardo DiCaprio will do it justice.

Until next time. xox 🙂

One thought on “The Great Gatsby Review

  1. This is a book that you should for sure reread at another time in your life. When I read it in high school I was not a big fan. However, I read it again when I was 21 and it was a whole new experience. I’m not sure how old you are but please give it another try at some point in your life. 🙂

Leave a comment